Is there no shame !

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 05:32
ThreadID: 62771 Views:2513 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
I see there is a Bucky in S.A.

Great name mate, but have you no shame ?..Rats

Best to call myself, "Bucky the Mexican" from now on.

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 07:15

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 07:15
EL BUCKO

Suppose it has a certain ring about it.

Cheers........Lionel.
AnswerID: 331158

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:06

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:06
Mate, I know how you feel. Why, when I joined a few years ago, there was actually someone using my name "Mike". I kicked up a hell of a stink, but they just ignored me.

Can you believe that !

Eventually I settled on Willie, but then ( and rightfully so ) I got flack from all Willems friends who called him Willie off line.

It's been an incredibly stressful time for me and I have had to receive councelling.

Willie.
AnswerID: 331166

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:07

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:07
counselling as well !
FollowupID: 598927

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:10

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:10
So you named yourself after a famous member eh?

FollowupID: 599525

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:09

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:09
I noticed the name change...suits ya!!LOL!!
AnswerID: 331167

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:10

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:10
Join the club mate - I enquired with David when my original handle (Banjo) was 'snaffled' - seems there is no mechanism for preventing it - not a big deal - we are lucky to have the site - I press on.
AnswerID: 331168

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:10

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:10
Thanks for the contact from Stockton Sat. night...

FollowupID: 598953

Follow Up By: Hairy Porter - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:19

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:19
Sorry mate, wasn't aware that all variations of a name were taboo when I first joined this site. I suppose I should have read the rule book first, but I was new and didn't know where to find it. I've read the post from David and Michelle re people stirring the pot so will leave it there. The name Banjo is yours for the taking.
FollowupID: 599161

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:41

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:41
Not an issue here Hairy - I 'came out' ages back - quite happy as is - if I have anything to say that shouldn't be said, I don't :-o).
FollowupID: 599174

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:23

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:23
You could always use your real name if its available, just add your state or town to set yourself apart from others.. I and many othere do!! It would be nice to reply to christian names instead of a screen name. Just a thought!!! Michael (Moss Vale) NSW..

AnswerID: 331173

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:25

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:25
Bucky is pretty much his real name!
everyone minus Lyn calls him Bucky.....even when Amy was 1 she learnt to call him Bucky.....her first sentence was "copy bucky" (holding the uhf)........
FollowupID: 598930

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:28

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:28
It wasn't a criticism, just a thought, there is also a lot of good and clever screen names out there. Michael

FollowupID: 598954

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:52
my name how ever has changed so much that I dont think I know my real name anymore!
FollowupID: 598992

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:31

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:31
There is me - JohnR (Vic) then later John R (Vic) there was a John R (NSW) and a John R (SA). I am never sure where all the birthday wishes go when the messages go up as I don't want to get older than one birthday a year.

Bucky, there is you and some pale imitation mate. What can I say? Is there a vote of confidence with such an imitation?
AnswerID: 331177

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:02

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:02
Bucky.

Just one of life's little annoyances.

For me it's "so far so good"

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 331189

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:54

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:54
theres no other kiw and grenade so no worries for me, but i remember "diver" being an issue - there was already a diver....then people thought that I was the owner / driver of the troopy that was getting around nsw and qld with "diver" rego plates!
AnswerID: 331236

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:39

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:39
You could try Bucky-0 or Bucko, JMHO
Cheers, Colin.
AnswerID: 331273

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 04:26

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 04:26
Bucky the Mexican, will do till someone copies that one..

And besides I kinda got used to the Mexican bit, when we crossed the Simpson with the crew from Yorke Peninsular 4X4 club, but mind you I did give my fair share back, as well.

El Bucko does have a certain "ring"about it
hehehehe

Cheers all, and one thing is for sure, I will still be here, for a while

Cheers All

AnswerID: 331356

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:54

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:54
What's in a name eh?

I am known by many on here and in my local 4WD Club as "Muddy".

It seems to have stuck so well that some people that have known me for quite a while either don't know or have forgotton my real name! On a few occasions I have called people on the phone and introduced myself as Steven and they will say "Who?" so I just say "It's Muddy". "Ahhhhh Muddy, why didn't you say so!"

Mud sticks!
AnswerID: 331732